2017 Consolidated Election Candidates

Bolingbrook First Party bold mission statement, "Through our constant commitment and dedicated service to the community, it is the Bolingbrook First Party's mission to provide efficient, effective, inclusive, and transparent local government that will continue to make Bolingbrook "A Place to Grow" for ALL of its residents."

Roger Claar – Candidate for Mayor holds a bachelor's and a master's degree from Eastern Illinois University, as well as a Ph.D. from Kansas State University. Claar has also formerly held positions as a Bolingbrook Village Trustee, Bolingbrook Fire and Police Commissioner, Founding Board Member of the Will County Center for Community Concerns, where he served for 30 years, and COO of an international electronics corporation. He is also a current member of the Suburban PACE Board of Directors representing Will County. Claar also served for 5 years on the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning. In addition, Mayor Claar is a past president and current member of the Illinois Municipal League board of directors. Distinguished awards that Mayor Claar has received over the years include: The Melvin Jones Fellows Award from the Lions Club, the Distinguished Alumni Award from Eastern Illinois University, the Operating Engineers Local 150 "Statesman of the Year" Award, the Bolingbrook Jaycees' Distinguished Service Award, the Silver Beaver Award, Scouting's Highest Recognition from the Boy Scouts of America, and the Illinois State Crime Commission Municipal Leader of the Year Award just to name a few. Mayor Claar and his wife Pat have one daughter. Their daughter and son-in law have blessed them with a granddaughter.

Carol S. Penning – Candidate for Clerk,lives by the mantra, "Work hard, strive for the best job you can do, and continue to learn." Penning is currently the President of the Community Service Council which provides counsel for both clinical and housing needs. She has received numerous awards including: the Bolingbrook Business and Professional Women's "Woman of the Year" award, the "Award of Appreciation" from the Coalition of Citizens with Disabilities in Illinois and also the Bolingbrook Area Chamber of Commerce “Lifetime Achievement Award”. Organizations that Penning has been involved with over the years include: the International Institute of Municipal Clerks, the Municipal Clerks of Illinois, the Municipal Clerks of DuPage County, and the Municipal Clerks of Will/Grundy Counties. Penning has also served as the liaison to the Bolingbrook Historic Preservation Commission and as member of the Bolingbrook 50th Anniversary Committee.

Michael Lawler – Candidate for Trustee has been focused on both the hospitality and information technology industries. During his time with Hyatt Hotels, he managed budgets of over $100 million and gained an understanding of the complexity of municipal government and how to deliver effective services with all the funding intricacies. After joining an international IT Services firm, he solved complex business issues with effective implementation and utilization of technology. He has brought his unique experience to his position on the Village Board and has served on various committees and community service organizations. Community service organizations that Lawler has had direct involvement with include: Den Leader and Cubmaster for Cub Scout Pack 32, Fundraising Committee for Rainbow Council, Boy Scouts of America, Member of Knights of Columbus, Council 6521, St. Dominic Parish, 4th Degree, and member of the Bolingbrook Lions Club. He is also a founding member and current president of the Valley View Educational Enrichment Foundation. Lawler happily raised his five children in Bolingbrook.

Sheldon L. Watts – Candidate for Trustee has served extensively over the years in various community capacities including DuPage Township Trustee and Zoning Board of Appeals Commissioner for the Village of Bolingbrook. Watts has had the distinct honor of being selected as Bolingbrook’s 2014 Male Citizen of the Year and being named to the 2016 Governor Jim Edgar Fellowship class. In addition, he was awarded the Township “Friend of the Youth Award” by the Association of Illinois Township Committees on Youth. Watts is also a current board member for the Will County Center for Community Concerns. In addition to his public service, Watts has had a successful career with a global telecommunications solutions provider and is currently the Lead Customer Compliance Manager for his organization. He also serves as Program Manager for its Digital Security Strategy Program. Watts holds a bachelor's degree and MBA from Roosevelt University, and he is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying Organizational Leadership at the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. He and his wife Cherron have a daughter and a son who are twins.

Maria A. Zarate – Candidate for Trustee currently serves on the Village's Public Safety Committee and Public Works Committee. Zarate is the former Chief of Staff for State Representative Cynthia Soto of Chicago's 4th District. Among her duties there, she was charged to resolve child support issues and inmate transfer inquiries with the Department of Corrections. Zarate is a current board member of the Heart Haven Outreach youth organization, and she is a former member of Bolingbrook's Civic & Cultural Affairs Commission. She volunteers her time with various community organizations such as the Spanish Welcoming Center in Joliet, IL, the New Life Lutheran Church Day of La Posada, and the Bolingbrook Christian Health Clinic. She is also the Village of Bolingbrook’s Liaison for the Mariachi Band Program. Zarate and her husband Terrence Sr. have three adult sons.

The Bolingbrook First Party invites all residents to visit their Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/KeepingBolingbrookFirst/

Dave Medema - Candidate for New Lenox Township Highway Commissioner has 15 years experience working for the Homer Township road district and is currently a New Lenox Township Trustee. Dave's campaign for New Lenox Township Highway Commissioner has been endorsed by State Representative Margo McDermed, Mayor Tim Balderman, County Board Members Ray Tuminello, Tom Weigel, New Lenox Township Supervisor Mike Hickey and the Grundy County Building Trades Consel.

Julie Berkowicz for Naperville City Council, a candidate who will work to lower expenses to ensure Naperville remains affordable for families, Seniors and Veterans and protect property rights.

Upcoming Events

Reception for Will County Board Member & Majority Whip, Mike Fricilone, May 4, 2017, 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., Embers Tap House, 933 S. State Street, Lockport, $50/person.

See calendar for details on the above and more events: http://willcountyrepublicans.org/calendar

Committee Meeting

The next Will County Republicans Monthly Meeting will be on Thursday, May 18, 2017, 7:00 p.m. Meet and Greet, 7:30 p.m. to 8:45 p.m. business meeting at a location soon to be announced, public invited.

WCRCC Agenda

Support WCR